Council Accepts Robin Schick’s Resignation From Council Seat Mike Cabre Named Vice Mayor

Council Accepts Robin Schick’s Resignation From Council Seat Mike Cabre Named Vice Mayor

By Linda Farneth

I know it’s a bit of a hook, shame on me, but it’s true, Schick must resign her seat on council to hold Mayoral seat. It’s complicated. Read on….

Colonial Beach Council members began their 2021 year with a work session sitting between Plexiglas separators and wearing masks which has become the norm. The group conducted house keeping procedures including setting meeting dates, appointing committee members and discussing topics that will be voted on at the first Council meeting scheduled for Jan 20 at 6. p.m.

The council will hold a special meeting on Monday Jan 18 at 8:00 a.m. to organize town priorities.

For instructions on how to view the meeting virtually click here. The meeting agenda can be found by clicking here. January 18, 2021 Agenda.

The first order of business at the Jan 6 work session was to pass a resolution to accept Robin Schick’s resignation from her council seat so she can legally and officially move up to the mayoral seat. The resolution also calls for an appointment to the seat until a special election is held on November 2, 2021 to serve the remainder of her term.

Currently the council members consist of Mayor Robin Schick who will hold her mayoral seat through 2025. Robin moves up from one of three seats held that were due to expire at the end of 2022. The other two seats are being held by Patrick Ey and Vicki Roberson. The three new council members whose seats will also run through the end of 2025 are Mike Cabrey, Caryn Self-Sullivan and Tom Moncure.

So now that the resolution has passed the town council will appoint a citizen to hold the seat left open by Robin Schick. The town will petition to hold a special election on November 2, 2021 to vote in a new council member to finish the remainder of the term which originally expired on December 31, 2022.

Next the council approved meeting and work session dates.

Works sessions are customarily held on the first Wednesday of every month and begin at 6 p.m. All meetings will be held at the town center located at 22 Washington Ave, unless otherwise announced.

Work Sessions Beginning at 6 p.m.

Regular Town Council Meetings start 6. p.m.

Feb. 3, 2021

March 3, 2021

April 7, 2021

May 5, 2021

June 2, 2021

July 7, 2021

Aug. 4, 2021

Sept. 8, 2021

Oct. 6, 2021

Nov. 3, 2021

Dec. 2, 2021

Jan. 5, 2022

Feb. 17, 2021

March 17, 2021

April 21, 2021

May 19, 2021

June 16, 2021

July 21, 2021

Aug. 18, 2021

Sept. 22, 2021

Oct. 20, 2021

Nov. 17, 2021

Dec. 15, 2021

Jan. 19, 2022

Council Bylaws

After voting on meeting dates the council engaged in discussions concerning council bylaws

The council members discussed some of the changes they would vote on at the regular meeting. Mayor Schick suggested many of the proposed changes.

Changes that most affect the citizens include moving council liaison reports to work sessions. The discussion between members brought up the fact that various non-governmental groups already spend a long time giving reports at regular meetings. By moving liaison reports from council members this would keep regular meeting times from going too long.

Another suggestions was to move citizen input higher up on the agenda in regular meetings to allow citizens to comment on matters before votes take place. However comments, regarding issues that are subjects of public hearings, should be reserved for those public comment segments.

Schick said council should listen during citizen input and refrain from emotional responses.

The next order of business was to elect a vice mayor which is customarily done by the members of council. The only nomination came from Robin Schick who nominated Mike Cabrey. Receiving no other nomination the vote was open and unanimous in favor of naming Councilman Cabrey as Vice Mayor.

The next order of business was to vote on Council Liaisons

Public Safety – Patrick Ey

Economic Development and Department of Planning & Zoning – Mike Cabrey

Administration – Robin Schick

Public Works  – Tom Mocure

Public Schools –  Vicki Roberson

NGO’s (Non-Governmental Organizations)  – Caryn Self-Sullivan

Parks and Recreation – Patrick Ey

In the next article we will look at the creation of a new committee and some of the initial members who have been chosen.

Hint it’s listed in the liaison list above.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.